Please help me understand this error message

Hello,

I just started learning PowerShell using the book “Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches.” I’m in chapter 3, “Using the Help System.” I ran the update-help command and I got the following response:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> update-help
update-help : Failed to update Help for the module(s) 'ConfigDefender, PSReadline, WindowsUpdateProvider' with UI culture(s) {en-US} : Unable to retrieve 
the HelpInfo XML file for UI culture en-US. Make sure the HelpInfoUri property in the module manifest is valid or check your network connection and then 
try the command again.
At line:1 char:1
+ update-help
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ResourceUnavailable: (:) [Update-Help], Exception
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : UnableToRetrieveHelpInfoXml,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.UpdateHelpCommand

After digging a bit into the update-help command online, I ran
Get-Module -ListAvailable | Where-Object -Property HelpInfoUri
and got an extensive list of modules that I won’t reproduce here (way too long).

The three modules that PowerShell said it could not update were in this long list of updateable modules. Therefore, I reran update-help again, and I got the same response for the same three modules.

Can you please help me understand what’s happening here? Am I doing something wrong? Is there a problem with my PowerShell setup? What do I need to know here that I am overlooking?

Thanks for your help!

Did you check for a module manifest (.PSD1) for those 3 modules per the error message and validate the HelpInfoUri property ?

1 Like

Thank you, tonyd, for that helpful insight.

As I said, I am entirely new to PowerShell and was not aware that each module had its own module manifest. After checking, I found that each module had a module manifest, but the HelpInfoUri links in the manifests returned 404 in two module manifests and an XML error in one of them.

<Error>
<Code>BlobNotFound</Code>