Touching Remote Computers to Add User Accounts

by Joat at 2013-04-27 18:09:28

Greetings,

I don’t consider myself a PS expert, but I have done enough code borrowing and transmogrification that I feel fairly comfortable in day-to-day use. I don’t think anything I do is ingenious - usually brute force in nature, and as always, you never learn until something breaks…

I have around 70 laptops that are used in a field situation where you never know which ones will appear in the field, but it becomes necessary to manage them when they show up. Historically, we use a peer-to-peer network as the field environment is usually short term (several days to several weeks), and usually never exceeds 20-ish computers.

I have a VBScript that I ran on the old XP platform that I could use to create user accounts on either the local machine or a peer machine by changing the hostname when the script is run (text field that defaults to the local machine). I decided to rewrite the script in PS when we migrated to Win7 and although the resultant script works just fine locally, when I try to create the account on a remote computer, I get an "Unspecified Error". I believe I have narrowed it down to what I believe to be a security setting (which I realize is not necessarily a PS issue, but it’s how I came upon the issue), but am unsure where to go next.

I think I have narrowed the problem down to getting no response from the remote computer. If I run the following manually in the ISE (or ISE (x86)) against the "LocalPC", it runs just fine, but if I run:
$Computer = [ADSI]"WinNT://RemotePC"
$Computer | Select *
I get:
format-default : Unspecified error
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:slight_smile: [format-default], COMException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.FormatDefaultCommand
Which leads me to believe there is a permissions issue in the way - call it a hunch.