Get process ID from a remote computer

Greetings!
I need help with the PS script, this is my first try and the first post on this forum.
I never used or tried PS before.
I’m not sure where even to post…

I’m trying to write a PS script to get processes running on a remote computer.
Microsoft documents have this example:
“Get-Process -Name PowerShell -ComputerName localhost, Server01, Server02”
But like everything at Microsoft, it is confusing and not clear.
I tried this:
Get-Process powershell -ComputerName someone-desk2
Get-Process powershell -someone-desk2
Get-Process powershell -ComputerName localhost,someone-desk2
Nothing is working…
Thank you

terster_v,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

First of all … Please when you post code, error messages, console output or sample data fromat it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ).
Thanks in advance.

Unfortunately that’s not a helpful description. What exactly happens? Do you get error messages? If yes please show them (formatted as code :wink: )

I see!

Here is the error:
Get-Process : Couldn’t connect to remote machine.
At line:1 char:2

• Get-Process powershell -ComputerName desk2
  •  + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-Process], InvalidOperationException

I pinged the Host (desk-2) it is online and returns the IP. I can remotely log in to the PC.

Please format errors and code as code.
Thanks in advance.

That does not necessarily mean you can reach the remote computer with PowerShell remoting.

You should check/enable PowerShell remoting. Here are some links about that topic:

The computername parameter uses dcom, no?

I should have been following my own recommendation - to read the complete help topic. :flushed: You’re totally right. Get-Process is one of those cmdlets.

So it might be a firewall issue …

@tester_v you may check your firewall settings on the remote computer to allow DCOM connections.

Greetings!