How did you learn to type-out & reason through scripting language?

h3110! I’m an auto-did-act learning how to USE and OPERATE computers like a computer science major would. Ok, here’s my “screed”: I never went to high school, and long story short → I need to learn how to read and reason through scripting language, programming-style structures and command syntax (with the goal of Systems/Network Admin). I’m currently reading books with words like, “beginner” in the title but inside the authors are using terminology, commands and coding I have never seen/heard. An excellent example is the book, “C Programming: Absolute Beginner’s Guide.” Also, many online searches have yielded no results for books that start at the v e r y beginning! I’m familiar with many words and basic CS concepts. I’m almost done going through “PowerShell in Depth”, 2nd ed., by JONES, HICKS & SIDDAWAY, picking out everything fundamental and basic.

Welcome to the forums :wave:

So even as folks with some experience, we constantly see terminology, commands, and code that we’ve never seen before. One of the best (and sometimes one of the most daunting) things about working in IT is that it’s not possible to know it all. In fact, things now progress so fast that it’s very difficult to know everything in even specific areas.

Honestly, focussing on programming in and of itself is not going to get to you to your goal of becoming a systems or network admin. Understanding some of the basic concepts such a loops, functions, strings, conditional statements etc. will help you write better scripts but the kind of things you’ll learn about on a CS programming course: abstraction, inheritence, coupling, cohesion, polymorphism etc. are not things that the average systems administrator is thinking about when scripting.