Seeking to build my foundational knowledge

Besides the “Learn Windows Powershell in a Month of Lunches” book which I will defiantly pick up does anyone have any courses that they would recommend on Microsoft learn, Udemy, etc that could take me to the next level with PowerShell? I am new to the PowerShell community so I am not really sure what to take.

I have a beginners course and am in the middle of a advanced course.

I’d say you have everything you need for now. :wink: In my opinion you learn the most while using it. If you work in the IT industry I’m sure you will have more than enough chances to practice and to learn. :+1:t4:

2 Likes

Olaf is correct, the best way to learn is to start working on something and learn to solve problems as you stuck.

Learning alone is just a theory without practice and as such is subject to forgetting what you learn, which is a counterproductive approach.

Start writing some scripts, anything, and when you stuck don’t ask for help and don’t watch YT, instead I suggest following:

1. Get to know google search operators:
    Refine web searches - Google Search Help
    google is more powerful than what most people believe, your main search operator for learning purposes is site:

2. Have a list of domains that will give you quick answer to problems that you encounter while learning.

Add any sites that were useful to you in the past (or as you discover them) to your list, then when you need answer to problem simply google out specifics against your list, for example:

my problem is whatever site:docs.microsoft.com
some other problem site:some.useful.site.com
  1. As you open sites from results, don’t read entire content to find your golden answer, instead use CTRL + F to quickly find what you need.
    If there is no result on site, you call it a nice try and move on to next one.

This may sound to you like “go google out your issues” but believe me it’s the fastest and most efficient way to learn.