What is wrong with my "if" statement

So I have a powershell script which is meant to disable active directory users using a specific [stupid freaking, needlessly overcomplicated] process designated by one of my companies clients, which, given an Active Directory user object Display name, will determine all of the groups to which the user is a member and remove the user from all Groups with the exception of the “domain users” group and a custom security group with the phrase “xenoport” in the SamAccountName attribute. But hey, I’m just a lowly system engineer, so the complications involved in administrating an active directory are way above my bachelors in IT and experience my own personal domain at home DURRRP (Snide sarcasm). Now that I have gotten my personal frustration out of the way, I am running into an issue where, when running what I think to be the correct code, my script keeps ignoring the if statement which is supposed to prevent the foreach-object loop from operating on groups that meet the aforementioned criteria and proceeds to attempt to remove the user from all groups to which it is a member. I know the code is right up to the if statement, as I tried replacing the code within the foreach-object script block to write the SamAccountName for each of the objects which it obtains from the pipeline, and it all looks correct, so I can only assume there is something wrong with the nested if statement. Any ideas? Oh also, how can I suppress the prompt which keeps asking me “are you sure” when removing the user from each group? Super annoying microsoft… That is what “-whatif” is for. Also, if you see any other issues, informing me of them would be much appreciated.

$user = [Microsoft.VisualBasic.Interaction]::InputBox("Enter user's first and last name", "Disable AD user", "")
$sam = Get-ADUser -Filter {DisplayName -like $user} -Properties *