Using Disable-ADUser

by dana803 at 2012-12-14 14:27:53

Hello there,

First off, I’m still new to powershell and eager to learn more, so if, after reading this you can direct me to any good resources for a beginner who needs to learn the basics of syntax, variables, and also for using powershell to do administrative tasks, I’d really appreciate it. So far, all the presentations I’ve been to have great info but actually putting the ideas and demos into practice are over my head not knowing well the basics of the language.

Now, my current task:
I want to disable AD accounts based on a list in a txt or csv file. I read some helpful suggestions in this post for someone who wanted to change attributes.
http://powershell.org/discuss/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=857
I don’t need to update attributes. I just want to disable AD accounts per a list of samaccountnames in a txt file.

That post made me think I might be able to use the rough script I have below, which is similar to my working create users script with input file, but i have no path here since samaccountnames are not supposed to be duplicated.

I have tried something similar but nothing happened and no errors. I wanted to see if someone versed in powershell could tell me if my attempt below makes sense. And, is it possible to add something where it shows the results like my create script did? My create script had a passthru switch which supposedly showed the output. Not sure if this is something that would be recognized in this one…

Import-CSV D:\psscript\disableusers.csv |
ForEach-Object {
Disable-ADUser -Identity $.samaccountname}

If needed, is there a way to only look in a particular OU when doing this? At which point does performance or memory come into play when comparing everything in the input file (sometimes only 5-10 records) to all of AD when all the users to disable may only be in one particular OU or folder?

Thank you very much for any thoughts on this one!
by mikefrobbins at 2012-12-16 19:09:36