Test-NetConnection - Duplicate headers

Hello,

I’m quite new to scripting. I have a need to parse some excel files to extract destination IPs and port info. My aim is then to generate PowerShell scripts which will loop through these and output the result of Test-NetConnection.

The purpose of this is not how I extract the data, is how the actual PowerShell script works.

I’ve made some progress with this script:

$array1 = “192.212.1.30”, 1433
$array2 = “192.213.1.30”, 1433

$array = $array1, $array2

foreach ($value in $array)

{

$currentTime = Get-Date -format “dd-MMM-yyyy HH:mm:ss”
$address = (Test-Connection -ComputerName (hostname) -Count 1).IPV4Address.IPAddressToString
$results = Test-NetConnection -ComputerName $value[0] -Port $value[1] |
Select-Object @{ Name = “Date Tested” ; Expression= { $currentTime } }, @{ IP = “Source IP” ; Expression= { $address } }, ComputerName, RemotePort, RemoteAddress, TcpTestSucceeded | Format-Table -Autosize | Out-File -Append C:\Dev\process.txt

}

The first issue is that the IP address field does not display within the output. The second issue is that for every time round the loop the column headers get added. Is there any way I can stop this happening?

Thanks,

Joe.

You do not want to mix Format-* cmdlets with outputting to file. Those are designed to output to the console. Also the calculated properties should be name/expression or label/expression. Your example code ends with error that IP key is not valid.

Thank you for the reply. I’ve changed the code slightly, now have this:

$array = $array1, $array2

$MasterList = @()
foreach ($value in $array) {

$address = (Test-Connection -ComputerName (hostname) -Count 1).IPV4Address.IPAddressToString
$results = Test-NetConnection -ComputerName $value[0] -Port $value[1]

$MyObject = New-Object PSObject -Property @{
DateTested = $currentTime
Source = $address
Destination = $results.RemoteAddress
RemotePort = $results.RemotePort
TcpTestSucceeded = $results.TcpTestSucceeded
}