Output results to Excel but in different columns

I am brand new to PS so if I sound like I don’t know what I am talking about, its because I don’t.

I pilfered a script that pings hostnames and returns the IP address. The result is written to a csv. This all works well. However it writes the hostname and IP address in the same cell. How can I write them to different columns?

Here is what I have:

$PingPCs = Get-Content .\TestPing.txt 
$Date = Get-Date 
$Date >> PingResult.csv
$Date
"Server , 'IP Address'"  >> PingResult.csv
$Date >> PingFailed.csv
foreach ($PC in $PingPCs)
{
$up = Test-Connection $PC -Count 1 -Quiet 
if($up) {
#Test-Connection $PC -Count 1 | Select-Object Address,IPv4address  >> PingResult.csv
$Response = Test-Connection $PC -Count 1 | ft Address,IPv4address -HideTableHeaders
$Response >> PingResult.csv
}
else {
$Failed =  "$PC is not reacheble" 
$Failed >> PingFailed.csv
Write-host "$PC is not reacheble" -ForegroundColor Red
}
}
#Write-Host $PingFailed

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

-Josh

Based on your existing code, this is one of likely many ways …

$Response = Test-Connection $PC -Count 1
"$($Response.Address),$($Response.IPV4Address.IPAddressToString)".Trim() >> .\PingResult.CSV

Thank you for your response, tonyd! I tried to paste this into my code, but it isn’t working. I get an RPC Server not available error. This is what I am using for those lines:

#Test-Connection $PC -Count 1 | Select-Object Address,IPv4address  >> PingResult.csv
$Response = Test-Connection $PC -Count 1 "$($Response.Address),$($Response.IPV4Address.IPAddressToString)".Trim() >> .\PingResult.CSV

Is that the correct way to use this code? Im sorry if this is an obvious answer. I truly have no idea what I am doing in PowerShell

No, you need separate lines as in my post.

From your original code, replace these lines:

$Response = Test-Connection $PC -Count 1 | ft Address,IPv4address -HideTableHeaders

With these lines: