Powershell and what to replace vbScript/ASP?

Hi Folks,

I’ve made a few false starts over the years in attempting to switch from vbScript to PowerShell. I’m in a place where tight reigns on IT spend prevented us from moving from Windows 2003 DCs until now that they are end of support.

So I’m going to finally switch by recoding an SCCM-like tool I wrote in vbScript/ASP/SQL to Powershell/?/SQL.

Learning vbScript meant you knew ASP. With Powershell I don’t think that’s the case. I assume ASP.NET is the answer. If so is there any common ground with PowerShell? Will I need to learn two languages?

Thanks.

Michael

The most important thing to remember, is PowerShell is a interactive command line shell. So to learn it, start with the shell, and not with scripting.

I remember when I started learning it; I did it in the wrong way. I didn’t try to discover the shell. I jumped immediately into scripting.

This is the wrong approach. Start with the basics.

For example, try

Get-Process
Then try:
Get-Help Get-Process
Then try:
Get-Help Get-Process -examples

PowerShell let’s you discover itself. But only when master a few basics.

These basics are described in the following book: Learn PowerShell 3 in a month of lunches, 2nd Edition

You don’t need to learn two languages, PowerShell is the only one you need to know. Of course it helps when you are proficient in a programming language like C#. This is not mandatory to learn PowerShell. My advice, learn the basics, and learn them well. Advanced stuff will be a result of knowing the basics.

Thanks Richard, I bought the Don Jones book about a year ago. I’m back on it again after getting stalled. I need to get some practical ‘hands on’ now I guess.

I wanted to set myself a challenge, to gather inventory information from machines on my domain and send this back to a SQL database and query it via a web page. From what I gather you’re saying I’m trying to run before I can walk.