Pinging Variables

Greetings one and all, I am trying to save an IP address to a named variable then run ‘test-connection’ to return an out-gridview of the variable used to replace the IP and the average timeout of 4 pings.

Below is a sample of what I have cobbled together. Please do have patience with me as I am just beginning my PowerShell journey, thank you.

$Myname = 172.168.1.9
$yourname = 10.25.62.100

Test-Connection $Myname,$yourname | Out-GridView

Herman,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

What is your question?

And please … when you post code, sample data, console output or error messages format it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ). Simply place your cursor on an empty line, click the button and paste your code.

Thanks in advance

How to format code in PowerShell.org <---- Click :point_up_2:t4: :wink:

Terribly sorry about the sample code above thought the instructions also said that a ticked line above and below were sufficient. I will attempt to edit it;

The sample I pasted above does not return a window of the IP addresses displayed by the variables they are saved in and it does not show the average of 4 pings like a traditional ping command.

Hmmm I assume you’re asking what’s wrong with your code. Don’t you actually get error messages? At least I do when I run your code as it is (of course with changed IP addresses :wink: ) If you get error messages you should share them here completely formatted as code. They are an important language feature telling you what’s wrong and sometimes even what to change. :wink:

Try it this way:

$Myname = '172.168.1.9'
$yourname = '10.25.62.100'

Test-Connection -ComputerName $Myname, $yourname |
    Out-GridView

Actually you don’t need two separate variables. You can use an array.

$IpAddressList = 
'172.168.1.9',
'10.25.62.100'

Test-Connection -ComputerName $IpAddressList |
    Out-GridView