Personal Project - HELP

First, let me give you the background. I have a 5TB HDD (Drive D:) I also have 4 smaller drives (M:,N:,O:, and P:).
I also have just a couple of weeks coding experience (total noob). Which is why I’ve come here.
What I want to do is a file by file copy from the source (D:) to the destination (M,N,O, or P) preserving the directory structure.
The stumbling block is that many files and paths have spaces in them and possibly even escape characters.
I originally wanted to build the code around the output of this line (attempting to pass it to a variable or fill an array).

Get-ChildItem D:\ -Force -Recurse | Format-Table FullName

My original idea was to split the output into 3 parts: the drive letter, the full path+file name (without the drive letter), and file length (which I know is not included in the line)
But then I read that table formatted output is considered “bad form” and causes all manner of problems, so I abandoned it.
So then, I managed to create this:

cls
Clear-RecycleBin -Force  # No point in backing up deleted files.
$Source = "D:\"
$target = 'M:'

get-childitem -literalpath $Source -Force -recurse | Foreach-Object {
        $_.FulName, $_.Length
        # Get remaining space on 1st drive (M)
        $freeM = Get-PSDrive M |Select-Object -ExpandProperty Free
        if ($_.Length -lt  $freeM)
             {
             # Copy-Item
             Copy-Item "$($_.fullName)" -Container -Verbose -Destination $target -Recurse -Force
             }
        else {
            $target="N:"
            # Get space on N
            $freeN = Get-PSDrive N |Select-Object -ExpandProperty Free
            if ($_.Length -lt  $freeN) {
                Copy-Item "$($_.fullName)" -Container -Verbose -Destination $target -Recurse -Force 
            }
            else {
                $Target = "O:"
                # Get space on O
                $freeO = Get-PSDrive O |Select-Object -ExpandProperty Free