PowerShell - Robocopy

Hello, I’ve got no PowerShell experience, however I’ve got a situation where I need to make use of it to copy some folders.

$Source = Get-ChildItem “\ServerA\Backups\BU002\Backups” -recurse -exclude “STAGING_BACKUP_*” | Where-Object {$.PSIsContainer -eq $true -and $.Name -match “BACKUP”} $Dest = “\ServerB\Backups\BU002\Backups” robocopy $source $Dest /NP /E /W:10 /R:4 /X /V /Copy:DT /MAXAGE:2
How can I only copy the entire BACKUP folder and not just the contents within the folder, if that makes sense?

Deano, welcome to Powershell.org. Please take a moment and read the very first post on top of the list of this forum: Read Me Before Posting! You’ll be Glad You Did!.

When you post code or error messages or sample data or console output format it as code, please.
In the “Text” view you can use the code tags “PRE”, in the “Visual” view you can use the format template “Preformatted”.
Thanks in advance.

That’s actually more a robocopy question than Powershell. :wink: robocopy takes as the source only a single folder path. You cannot provide an array. So if I got it right this should be enough:

$Source = ‘\ServerA\Backups\BU002\Backups\BACKUP’
$Dest = ‘\ServerB\Backups\BU002\Backups\Backup’
robocopy $source $Dest /NP /E /W:10 /R:4 /X /V /Copy:DT /MAXAGE:2

If that’s not what you want you will have to elaborate a little more detailed about your task.

Apologies, noted!

In my source location I would like to filter on a specific folder (“BACKUP”) and copy that folder to the destination and not just the contents within the folder if that makes sense.

What do you mean with filter? If you know the name (path) of the folder just provide this name (path).

That does make sense and I already showed you above how to achieve this. You have to include the name of the folder in the destination path you provide for robocopy.

Hi Dinko, a couple of things,

1 - Olaf showed you how to do it if you only have one back-up folder