Newbie asking about updating cmdlets

Hello to all, my situation is this, and it may or maybe not have an answer so I thought I better ask the Pro’s. Hate to try to fix something that is not fixable.

I have several boxes that are running Win 7 Pro and PS version 4.0. I also have one box that is a Win 8.1 machine, also running PS version 4.0. I have updated all the machines to version 4.0.

I am studying Ed Wilson’s PowerShell first steps book while waiting on Don Jones book PowerShell in a month of lunches. The Ed Wilson book uses Win 8 and PS Version 3.0 and when I try to run the same commands on the Win 7 Pro machines I find that those commands are not available in that platform.

Is there anything that I can do to get all the machines to the same level, or am I stuck with a Windows OS Compatibility issue? Thanks for your time and help, I find that posting questions here is a great way to learn, and someday I hope to be able to help others also.

There are hundreds (if not thousands) of cmdlets that only exist on Windows 8 or later; Microsoft made a huge push for its products to have PowerShell modules between the releases of those two OSes. They’re mostly based on new WMI / CIM namespaces and classes that don’t exist on the older operating systems, and as such, there’s no way to get them working.

There’s always a way to reproduce that behavior on older platforms, even if you’re not using the same method. It’s just usually not a simple as running a cmdlet that’s already made for you, though there are some exceptions. For instance, cmdlets like Add-PrinterDriver are new to Windows 8, but the %systemroot%\system32\Printing_Admin_Scripts\en-us\prndrvr.vbs script has been around for years. It accomplishes the same thing using older WMI classes.