New-PSSession via VPN

I am new to PowerShell.

I have VPN access to several of my customers and would like to have the ability to access their machines (Servers and desktops) to provide support. Today I needed access to the C: drive on two computers to look for files. I couldn’t make the connection with PowerShell but I could make the connection with a standard Windows Browser by entering \\c$ and providing the authentication. If I could connect with PowerShell, I could invoke-command to copy a file from one PC to another, right?

What needs to be set up in order to make that happen?

Even pointing me to documentation that covers this would be fine.

That’d be “Secrets of PowerShell Remoting.”

The fact that it’s a VPN doesn’t matter; once the VPN is up, it’s just a network connection. So the remote machine needs to (a) have Remoting enabled, and (b) be willing to let you in. The latter is harder if you and the remote machine aren’t in the same domain; you’re going to have to either add them all as Trusted Hosts, or do the right thing and set up HTTPS on them instead of the default HTTP receiver for Remoting.

Accessing a file share uses SMB. That’s an entirely different protocol using entirely different authentication rules. For example, a file share will fall back to NTLM for non-domain authentication; Remoting won’t do that automatically.

And to answer the next problem…

[blockquote]If I could connect with PowerShell, I could invoke-command to copy a file from one PC to another, right?[/blockquote]

Not by default. When you remote to a machine, you only have access to local resources by default. A configuration change is needed on that machine, or in the remote domain, to allow you to hop around from machine to machine.