Learning - Don Jones

I am new to PowerShell and have attended a Microsoft online course. It was OK, but not what I was expecting. I am now going to purchase some materials on my own and would like suggestions as I am not quite sure on which editions of PowerShell books to purchase yet or which training videos would be best. My background is as a Windows and Unix engineer, but never as a programmer or coder as I have never pushed myself to learn it which is my own fault.
Can someone please advise me on what to get and also aside from this site I have done research and found other sites. But I am interested in any free/online learning materials, e-books, web videos and so forth that are done well and would benefit me.

Best Regards,
Jay

If you’re looking for free resources (other than PowerShell.org), the TechNet Script Center will be near the top of the list. Lots of articles, blog posts, and the Gallery / Script Repository which has all kinds of stuff (both Microsoft and community-submitted content). http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/dd742419.aspx

I can speak for what I’ve done. “Learn PowerShell 3 in a Month of Lunches” is in fact valid for PowerShell 3 and 4 as a starting point (a revision of the book cover will be removing the “3” and making the 3/4 usefulness clear). My “Ultimate PowerShell v2/3/4” video series with CBT Nuggets is also current (and just completed). PowerShell In Depth is a reference, and is being revised to a 2nd edition to correspond with PowerShell v4, and remains useful for v3. My YouTube page (youtube.com/powershelldon) has a number of useful videos, including multi-hour workshops, and is free - but it is not specifically structured video learning.