Get-Winevent / Boot Duration for multiple computers

Hello,

I need to evaluate many machines across a network to determine what is causing slow boot times. I came across this: http://www.happysysadm.com/2014/07/windows-boot-history-and-boot.html and thought I could figure out how to pass a list of computer names (.txt or .csv) using Get-Content to then generate a report of boot durations. I’m new to Powershell and just purchased “Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches”. Would this be the best approach for this task?

Yes it would.

I just happened to look at the help for get-wineventlog and saw Example 4 that do what you want.

PS C:\>ForEach-Object ($Server in $S) {$Server; Get-WinEvent -ListLog "Windows PowerShell" -Computername $Server}

In your case it might look like :

PS C:\>ForEach-Object ($Server in $S) {$Server; Get-WinEvent -Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance }

I hope that helps

Wei-Yen,

Thank you for replying. I’ve attempted the following:

#get machine names
$MachineNames = Get-Content "\path of text file containing list\file.txt"

#array to store WinEvents
$WinEvents = @()

#loop through list of computers to get WinEvents
foreach ($machine in $MachineNames)
{
     $WinEvents = $machine; Get-WinEvent -ComputerName $machine -FilterHashTable @{logname = "Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance/Operational"; id=100}
}

That portion retrieves data as expected. How would I process each event for each machine in the list and export to a text or csv file for reporting? I’m working towards using SQL as recommended here: https://powershell.org/forums/topic/retrieve-event-logs-for-boot-time/ but I’m just learning Powershell.