Change a web.config connectionstring error

Hello, I am new to powershell just watched the jumpstart videos two days ago. Being a former Linux admin/dev I really like powershell and I am very excited to get involved with the community.

Here is the problem I am trying to solve. I am creating a script to promote a web page from DEV to UAT and then Production if all goes well. So the first thing I am really trying to do is change the web.config file to set debug = false/true depending on some logic I will define. Then I want to change the SQL DB connection string to point to the target environment. The debug value works great.

The problem I am having is with the connection string.

CODE:

$webConfig = "C:\users\%user%\desktop\gsrs\web\web.config"
$doc = new-object System.Xml.XmlDocument
$doc.Load($webConfig)
$doc.get_DocumentElement()."system.web".compilation.debug = "true"
$doc.Save($webConfig)
$doc.get_documentelement().configuration.connectionstring = "test"

ERROR:
The property ‘connectionstring’ cannot be found on this object. Verify that the property exists and can be set.
At line:6 char:1

• $doc.get_documentelement().configuration.connectionstring = “test”
  •   + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (:) [], RuntimeException
      + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PropertyNotFound

I have tried with a configuration.connectionstring.add
.name
and a few other variations.

I know this is something small and I am just missing it. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance…
Mike

I’ve often had more success in using an Xpath query to select a node, rather than trying to traverse the DOM tree. So, you’d query for the ConnectonString node, and then set it. I’m guessing now that whatever element you’re referencing isn’t the one you think you got.

Thanks Don. I will read the documentation on that and give it a try.

I’m with Don on this one. Once you get the hang of Xpath it’s a one-stop shop where you don’t really have to use any other method.