AD Groups: Creation and Updating

I am new to powershell and have been working on a script that will create, mail-enable, and populate several Universal Distribution groups based on various fields of the user’s AD object (roughly 11,000 users and 2 dozen groups). Being a world-wide company means that a user might need to be in one group today, but in a different (mutually-exclusive) group tomorrow (for example, you can’t work in two coutries at the same time).

In a nutshell, I need to check to see if the group exists, if it doesn’t I need to create it and add the current user to it. If it does exist, I want to empty the group and then add users to it (this ensures I don’t end up with people in mutually exclusive groups).

There is a VB script in place right now that takes a minimum of 4.5 hours to run every night and I am attempting to redo the script in powershell (both because it will be faster, and as a learning tool for me). Below is an excerpt:

$objCountryGroup = get-ADGroup -filter {samaccountname -eq $strCountryGroupName} -properties extensionAttribute1
   if ($objCountryGroup -eq $null) {
      $objCountryGroup = new-ADGroup -name $strCountryGroupName -samaccountname $strCountryGroupName -groupcategory Distribution -groupscope Universal -displayname $strCountryGroupName -description ("Auto Created - " + (get-date)) -path ("ou=xxxxx,ou=xxxxx,dc=xxxxx,dc=xxxxx") -otherattributes @{'extensionAttribute1'="No"} -passthru
      enable-distributiongroup $strCountryGroupName
   }
   add-ADGroupMember -identity $objCountryGroup -member $objUser

The enable-distributiongroup statement fails every time the code runs with the error “the object does not exist”. The add-ADGroupMember statement also fails the first few iterations and then suddenly starts to work.