New to PS scripting-help with add user to AD group

Hi all,

I’m new to PS scripting and am a student of studying for an MCSA in Windows 10 and am beginning to try to use PS for my corporate environment’s benefit. I have an idea of writing a script that checks if a user is added to a particular security group in AD, and if not, will add them to it The query will require input from the technician running the script to add the LDAP username and then press Enter to run the script.

If the user is already part of the group, then it returns that information in a write memo to the tech. If the user is not already in the group, they are added and a write memo will say "added to “x” group.

If there has already been a script template shared for this, can you please re-share the link? If not, does anyone have an idea to help get me started?

Thank you!

Did you search for it? There are tons of scripts doing the same or similar things. Grap one, modify it to you needs and test it in your test environment. If you have a specific question to a particular piece of code you wrote you can post this here along with error you get and we will be happy to try to help you.

Here you have 2 common sources for scripts:

http://www.powershellgallery.com/

https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/

Hi,

I did do some searching but was hoping to narrow the search down using these forums as the search alone could take some time to do and I work in a fast paced environment.

I will use the links above to try and filter down my search but in the meantime, if anyone has easily posted examples (with non-specifics for the names and PID) then I’d be happy to take a look.

Thanks!

I search ADGroup and came across a couple ones. https://www.powershellgallery.com/items?q=Adgroup&x=0&y=0
Search is your friend the Gallery as it’s a bit overwhelming at first.

Here’s one that’s already been made.