Add-ADGroupMember Problems...

by Zero0ne at 2013-04-16 12:25:14

I guess this being my 1st post, I should probably first introduce myself. My name is Ken and I’ve been working in IT for just about 15 years now. Over the years I’ve dabbled in the dark arts known as scripting … but never beyond an intermediate level. Truth be told, I’ve never really had a need to dive deep into any one particular scripting language… only scratch the surface to get the job that I needed done and then move on. That brings me to my latest scripting adventures and the reason why I’m reaching out for some guidance.

The company I work for is in the final stages of making the move from Exchange to Google Apps. Unfortunately, one of the features we use pretty heavily (Dynamic Distribution Groups) is an Exchange Only feature. As it were, Google does provide a tool (GADS) for syncing distribution groups up with Google Apps, however when we un-install Exchange from our environment we’re going to need to find some solution to replace these. This is where my Power-Shell scripting adventures begin…

The concept of what I’m trying to accomplish is pretty simple…

[list][] Search and filter AD for users that match specific criteria (example: departmentNumber = 10)[/]
[] Search and get the membership of a specific group[/]
[] Compare these two objects and determine if users need to be added or removed[/]
[] Add/Remove users bases on the above results[/][/list]

This simulates the Dynamic Distribution Group experience in that the group membership is dynamically updated based off of specific set of a search criteria. Now you might think that the hard part would be determining the search filters but in truth that’s the easy part. They are already identified in the existing Dynamic Distribution groups. No… unfortunately the difficult part is the adding of users to the group.