Writing Logfile in a script

Hey guys,

I’m new to Powershell and just got the task to write a code which generates a Logfile. The Problem is there are a few things I need to consider. The Logfile should only show the commands which didn’t occur an error. And the Logfile needs to complete within writing the code, so it need to be one file and not a lot of files.

I already tried to do it with the commands “set-content”, “add-content”, but I didn’t reached my goal

I’m from Germany, hope you understand my English.
Thanks for upcoming answers :slight_smile:

I found this online some years back.

function LogWrite($string, $color)
{
$Currentdate = Get-Date -Format "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss"
if ($Color -eq $null) {$color = "Green"}
write-host "$Currentdate :: $string" -foregroundcolor $color
"$Currentdate :: $string" | out-file -Filepath FileSystem::$logfile -append
}

In my scripts I’ll use it like this

LogWrite "Opening SSH Session to $lweb"

Hmm, this isn’t working.
I want to save the Logs on my own disk.
Not on a host, but this was kind of useful anyway.
Do you know any options to make the Logs save automatically and extend the Logfiles instead of overwrite it?
I think this would solve my problem.

You would want to look at Start-Transcript cmdlet

Here’s the function I wrote and use for mine. It’s based on code from here.

Function LogWrite
{
   	Param (
		[Parameter(Mandatory=$true)][string]$LogFile,
   		[Parameter(Mandatory=$true)][string]$LogString,
		[Parameter(Mandatory=$true)][int]$Severity = 0
	)

switch ($Severity)
	{
		{
			$severityStr = "INFO"
		}
		{
			$severityStr = "WARNING"
		}
		{
			$severityStr = "ERROR"
		}
		{
			$severityStr = "CRITICAL"
		}
	}

$logEntry = "{0} - {1}: {2}" -f (Get-Date -Format u), $severityStr, $LogString

Add-content $LogFile -value $logEntry 
}

To use it,

• I pass the folder path I want to create the log file in.
  • Verify the path exists.