PowerShell Logging.

Hi Guys, newbie here on the forums.

I looked for an answer to my question first, so this is more of a follow up to this post:
https://powershell.org/forums/topic/save-the-output-of-powershell-script/

I use PowerShell quite a lot, but I am no means experienced with scripting/coding.

I have built, what I would class as crude PowerShell applications. A series of functions and a menu system built into a PS1 file.

What I have not been able to yet master is logging.

Just this morning I have found the ‘start-transcript’ command, which appears to be exactly what I want.

However, inside my application I suppress the errors so the user has a more elegant experience.

My thinking here is that a transcript, is essentially going to capture whatever is output to the console, and if i have
$ErrorAction = “SilentlyContinue” the errors wont be there to be transcripted.

What I would like to do is run a transcript but also capture the errors, whilst not displaying the errors out to the console.

Is that possible? Hopefully that makes sense?

Many thanks in advance if you are able to help out!

I don’t think you can.

using the transcript cmdlets toggles the transcript functionality pretty much on or off
-Erroraction silentlycontinue will pretty much suppress your errors and you won’t see anything

I think you’ll have to log information separately - either using write-eventlog to add it to an event log - I’d recommend creating your own
or use add-content to write the data to a text file

I think you’ll end up with something like

try {
do-something -erroraction stop
log success
}
catch
{
log error
}

If you have some control over how your script is called, you could also use a redirection operator to send the Error stream to a file. It would have to be a separate file from the rest of your logging, though (to avoid “file in use by another process” errors):

.\SomeScript.ps1 2>> .\SomeScriptErrorLog.txt

Ok so that sounds doable.