using self-signed cert between 2 hosts but get certificate chain error

I’m new to certs, but i have been following this guide, using makecert.exe of course.

with the guide i have successfully created a certificate under “certificates - current user\trusted root certification authorities”
and under “certificates - current user\Personal\Certificates”… i then used the following to sign my script successfully and was able to execute it as a signed script on the win2012R2 server i created the cert on, that had execution policy set to “Allsigned”

Get-ChildItem cert:\CurrentUser\My -codesign
Set-AuthenticodeSignature "C:\Users\admin\Desktop\test.ps1" @(Get-ChildItem cert:\CurrentUser\My -codesign)[0]

i then followed the same guide and exported the .cer from “certificates - current user\trusted root certification authorities” and copy it over to another windows 7 host. attempted to import the .cer file with no issues at all. execution policy set to “Allsigned” over here as well.

when i copy the test.ps1 that is signed over tot he win7 host and try and execute it i get the following error:

File C:\Users\admin\Desktop\test.ps1 cannot be
loaded. A certificate chain could not be built to a trusted root authority.
    + CategoryInfo          : SecurityError: (:) [], ParentContainsErrorRecord
   Exception
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : UnauthorizedAccess

Am i missing something here or is there a better method for me to create my own cert , sign my own ps1 scripts, and move both to another host windows 7 and have the signed script run there? any help or suggestions appreciated.

Hi John,
Have you verified that the root certificate was actually imported to Trusted Root?
I find that I often have to specify the specific store, rather than trusting windows to figure it out based on the certificate.

Liam