Issue with new-selfsignedcertificate

Hi all,

Absolute newbee here and pumped up after watching an old course on MVA with Jeffrey Snover and Jason Helmick.

I’m trying to get my scripts to execute. The scripts were all working fine, the execution policy is set to remote signed and yesterday, I swear all was working fine. Today however I can’t run the scripts. I tried the unblock-file and the block is gone. However, it’s not working so I decided that having a selfsigned cert might help.

So I used the get-help command and came up with the following lines. If you could point me in the right direction or give me some advice I’d be very grateful.

New-SelfSignedCertificate -FriendlyName "CodesigningCertificate" -Type Custom -KeyAlgorithm RSA  -KeyLength 2048 -KeyUsage CertSign -CertStoreLocation "cert:\localmachine\my" -subject "Christian Held"

I wanted to create the cert under cert:\localmachine\my

Then I tried this:

PS C:\scripts\my_scripts> $Mycert = dir Cert:\LocalMachine\My\4A5CEDDBE853388EF77184570B5C45D9A9807C7D
PS C:\scripts\my_scripts> Set-AuthenticodeSignature .\get_latest_10_eventlog.ps1 -Certificate $Mycert

I think you’re down a bit of a rabbit hole. If the scripts aren’t running - what DOES happen? Do you get an error message, or does just literally nothing occur?

Self-signed certificates are the devil’s testicles. Let’s not play with them. They’re not going to help, anyway.

You can create a SSC anywhere and just import it into the user or computer store.

You can do this on the fly, using the same cmdlet, but you need to specify it.

Quickly generate, install, and export Self-Signed Certificate in PowerShell on Windows 8.1/2012R2
Self-Signed Certificate can be used widely in test, development, Local Web or Cloud Web Sites. This article will introduce a method to quickly generate Self-Signed Certificate, automatically export private key, and install the cert under LocalMachine\My and LocalMachine\Root on Win8.1 and Win2012.