Updating DNS records via PowerShell

Hi All,

I am new to PowerShell, but have written some basic scripts over the years. I mainly work in Unix/Linux so am very familiar with shell, perl, python, etc scripting. I am looking to write some PowerShell scripts to update DNS records, mainly updating IP addresses.

PS Version

In searching around I have found a few examples but so far I have not succeeded. I’m trying to do something simple like this:

Get-DnsServerResourceRecord -ZoneName example.com -RRType A

$new = $old = Get-DnsServerResourceRecord -ZoneName example.com -Name test
$new.RecordData.IPv4Address = [System.Net.IPAddress]::parse('10.10.1.10')
Set-DnsServerResourceRecord -NewInputObject $new -OldInputObject $old -ZoneName example.com

Get-DnsServerResourceRecord -ZoneName example.com -RRType A

Which errors out with

HostName                  RecordType Type       Timestamp            TimeToLive      RecordData
--------                  ---------- ----       ---------            ----------      ----------
test                      A          1          0                    01:00:00        10.12.1.10

Set-DnsServerResourceRecord : Resource record in OldInputObject not found in example.com zone on Server1 server.
At C:\scripts\dnstest.ps1:15 char:1
+ Set-DnsServerResourceRecord -NewInputObject $new -OldInputObject $old ...
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (Server1:root/Microsoft/...rResourceRecord) [Set-DnsServerResourceRecord], CimException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : WIN32 9714,Set-DnsServerResourceRecord

test                      A          1          0                    01:00:00        10.12.1.10

Can anyone shed some light on how this can be done? Any guidance is greatly appreciated…

Thanks,

HB