Unable to Launch Command Line Executable

by TheRealRobG at 2012-09-04 14:20:45

Hello,

I’m a newbie to PowerShell, though I have experience coding in PHP and VB.

I’ve got my script generating the commands I want to run as string variables OK, and they list on screen fine. If I cut & paste them into Windows 7 at the command line they work fine (held in a variable called $execcommand):

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe DNG Converter.exe" -d "C:\PhotoImport\3_DNG_From_Adobe_DNG_Converter" J:\S0016439.RAF

However, as soon as I stick ‘&’ in front of them to actually run them from within PowerShell I’m getting error messages (and this happens whether I use single or double quotes to surround the long file paths) - via &$execcommand:

The term ‘"C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe DNG Converter.exe" -d "C:\PhotoImport\3_DNG_From_Adobe_DNG_Converter" J:\S0016439.RAF’ is not recognized as the name of a cmd
let, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At C:\PhotoImport\photoimport.ps1:74 char:18
+ & <<<< $execcommand
+ CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: ("C:\Program Fil...J:\S0016439.RAF:String) , CommandNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException

Can anyone please suggest what I’m doing wrong?

Many thanks!
by willsteele at 2012-09-04 14:37:30
Instead of using & trying using the cmdlet Invoke-Expression with your variable. Additionally, the Start-Process cmdlet gives you a lot of control over how you can start processes. Additionally, the Start-Process cmdlet gives you the -Wait option, which is useful in case you need to stall processing at a given point until the task at hand completes.
by poshoholic at 2012-09-04 14:39:35
Hi there,

The error message is telling you that this is not a valid command:

‘"C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe DNG Converter.exe" -d "C:\PhotoImport\3_DNG_From_Adobe_DNG_Converter" J:\S0016439.RAF’