Test-Connection Script

Hello guys,

i wrote a script that gives me output if theres no connection to the ip 8.8.8.8 (with time)
now i wanted to enhance the script, so it only gives me one output, if the connection fails and if its restored. Can you give me some advice how to implement that? i am very new to powershell.

The script right now look like this:

while ($true)
{
    if (!(Test-Connection 8.8.8.8 -Quiet -Count 1))
    {
        Write-Host "Connection lost: " -ForegroundColor Red $(Get-Date -Format 'dd.MM.HH HH:mm:ss')
    }

Start-Sleep -Seconds 10
}

It runs over and over and checks if the connection is failed. The condition shoud be like:
ā€œif you lost the connection, wait till its restored and output itā€

The output shoud be something like this then:
ā€œConnection lost: 23.04.2021 17:30:00ā€
ā€œConnection restored: 23.04.2021 17:35:00ā€

Please excuse my bad wording and thanks alot for your help :slight_smile:

You can keep track of the connection state with a variable and use a switch statement if the state changes:

$state = $false

while ($true)
{
    if ((Test-Connection 8.8.8.8 -Quiet -Count 1) -ne $state) {

$state = -not $state

switch ($state) {

$false {Write-Host "Connection lost: " -ForegroundColor Red $(Get-Date -Format 'dd.MM.HH HH:mm:ss')}
                $true  {Write-Host "Connection restored: " -ForegroundColor Green $(Get-Date -Format 'dd.MM.HH HH:mm:ss')}

}

}

Start-Sleep -Seconds 10

}
1 Like

i do not quiet get the syntax, but it works is i wanted to!
Thanks alot :slight_smile:

No problem.

Happy to explain further if you let me know which parts youā€™re struggling with.

why do you say " -ne $state" and ā€œ$state = -not stateā€. Im not very familiar with programming in generall, so its a bit confusing to me ^^

-ne is the ā€˜Not equal toā€™ comparison operator.

The Test-Connection cmdlet, when used with the Quiet parameter, returns a boolean (True/False) value.