Small Script - Massive Memory consumption, low CPU but takes hours to complete??

Hello - I’m very new to PS. I have written a small script which looks at a huge CSV (Anything up to about 350MB with anything up to 8 million lines) then looks at the 3rd field in each line, compares this field with every entry in a reference CSV (which currently only has about 20 lines in it) and if the reference line matches this 3rd field, it replaces the field with whatever is in the reference file entry. A way of truncating the 3rd field based on entries in a ref file. It then stops looking through the ref file and continues through each line of the original CSV. It then makes a new CSV with a different extension.

Running this with small test files, it works great. However, I’ve just tried it on a 280MB csv and my PC is currently going crazy. Memory usage is up to 10.6GB, CPU nice and low on 4.2%, but it is taking hours to process this file. Running for about 40 minutes, it has process about 2MB of the 280MB file. I have another 27 similarly large files to get through. So might be done by Christmas.

Is there something very wrong with the script causing it to run slow slowly and why does it take 10.6GB of memory to read in a 280MB file???

Any help most appreciated.

$files = Get-ChildItem "~\Desktop\Test\*.dat"
foreach ($f in $files){
$outfile = $f.FullName + "new"

$file = Get-Content $f.FullName
$ref = Get-Content "~\Desktop\Test\Reference\ref.dat"

$file.split("`n") | foreach {# line in file
$c = 0
$outline = $nul
$_ = $_.TrimEnd() #removes any spurious spaces at end of lines
$_ = $_ + ' ' # adds a single space back on the end
$_.split('|') | foreach {# field in the line
$c++
#$c # for console view only to compare lines
If ($c -eq '3') { # will perform comparison against every entry in ref until a match found

$field = $_
$refhit = $false
$ref | foreach {# item in the ref array
if ($refhit -eq $true) {return}
if ($field -like $_) {# replace field with ref field