Send-MailMessage -Body is blank or partial

Hi There,

I’m really new with PowerShell, and I’m trying to do what seems like a very simple task but for the life of me cannot wrap my head around the behavior.

All I am trying to do is connect to one of our VCenter servers, query the datastore information and send the output to us via email.

• $datastore = get-datastore
  • Send-MailMessage -To mailbox@ourdomain.com -From vcenter@server.local -Subject Test -BodyAsHTML -Body "$datastore" -SmtpServer exchangeserver@server.local -Credential DOMAIN\UserID
I get the email but it only lists the one column (datastore names) and puts only that in the body of the email. If I just type $datastore by itself, I get all the data including the free space/available space which is what I want. All of my Google searches keeps hinting around something to do with HTML vs. plain-text as they relate to tables etc... but adding or removing the "-BodyAsHTML" does not impact this.

Can anyone see what I’m missing from my 2 lines here? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

You specify the parameter -BodyAsHtml. Does the cmdlet get-datastore outputs html formatted data? If not you should convert the output of the cmdlet to valid html.

[quote quote=188878]You specify the parameter -BodyAsHtml. Does the cmdlet get-datastore outputs html formatted data? If not you should convert the output of the cmdlet to valid html.

[/quote]

Hi! Thanks for the suggestion. I’m not 100% certain on the proper syntax of that commandlet or really more so where to insert it. I seemed to have received the same output in the email using the covertto-html command or not.

To answer your question - It doesn’t look like the output of get-datastore is in HTML at all, so I might just be going down a bunny trail thinking it had something to do with HTML or not. Thanks again for the suggestion!