Remove folders in a directory but keep the three latest (creation date)

Hi admins!

Im very new to powershell but ive heard that this is the place to ask questions/learn powershell.
I have a website where code is deployed to a directory. (d:\websites)
Every time some developer deploys an updated site a new directory is created and the IIS points to this new directory.
d:\websites\ver1
d:\websites\ver2
d:\websites\ver3
d:\websites\ver4
and so on…

I would like to schedule powershell to delete all folders and files in this directory except the last 2 based on creation date. (Because eventually the disk will be filled up)
Understand that you are not supposed to just ask for a complete script here but im just starting to learn powershell :slight_smile:

What i have so far is:

$path = “d:\websites”
$files = Get-ChildItem -Path $path -Recurse | Where-Object { $_.PsIsContainer -eq “$true”}

How would you guys solve this task?

Regards,
Johan

Two cool things Powershell does is Sort easily and also has -WhatIf for testing. If the Powershell version is v3 or higher, you can use -Directory versus the PSIsContainer logic:

$files = Get-ChildItem C:\Websites -Directory | Select Name, CreationTime, FullName | Sort CreationTime

$files

for ($i=0;$i -lt ($files.Count -2);$i++) {
    Remove-Item $files[$i].FullName -WhatIf
}

Name                                      CreationTime                              FullName                                
----                                      ------------                              --------                                
Ver3                                      7/13/2014 9:31:14 AM                      C:\Websites\Ver3                        
Ver1                                      8/14/2014 9:22:50 AM                      C:\Websites\Ver1                        
Ver2                                      8/14/2014 9:22:58 AM                      C:\Websites\Ver2