Help with a simple script...

I am pretty new to powershell and love it! I wrote this little snippet and it works, only under the condition you are at the console and click yes to all when it says hey you did not use the recurse option for directory X … I just do not get where i missed adding a recurse flag at. Any insight is appreciated.

$limit = (Get-Date).AddDays(-14)
$paths = @("F:\specific\place\for\tomcat\temp\","F:\another\place\for\log\archives\")
$excluded = @("*.pid", "*.status", "*.lock")

# Delete files that are not $excluded and older than the $limit.

foreach ($path in $paths)
    {

Get-ChildItem -Path $path -Recurse -Force -Exclude $excluded | Where-Object { $_.CreationTime -lt $limit } | Remove-Item -Force

}

If you do it like this: Remove-Item -Confirm:$false
This stops the commmand from asking for permission.

it sounds like that is coming from remove-item. Do you have any subfolders in any of those paths? if so, your loop will send every subfolder down the pipeline, so at some point you’re effectively trying to delete a subfolder. That’s when Remove-item will send you that message.

Alternately if you don’t want to delete any subfolders you could add the “-file” switch parameter to your “get-childitem” command. That will retrieve only files and should avoid any questions about recursion from remove-item. It would leave empty subfolders if you have any though, so not sure if that’s what you’re after.

You can also add “-confirm:$False” to “Remove-Item” but be careful with that combination. it’s a good way to delete alot of stuff really quickly

You’ll want to be careful with that. You didn’t tell Get-ChildItem to only return files, so if it finds a directory that matches your Where-Object criterium then you will delete it and its contents even if the files inside of it do not match the criterium.

Historically. I’ve used this approach for such efforts…
Based on the sample provided, I’d would do stuff like this…

{