remote install with csv

hello

im new to powershell

im looking for the simplest way to remotely install an exe to computers listed in a csv file

from my local machine

i ran this script with no errors but it didnt do anything either :

all the computers in the csv file are under “name”

$computers = Import-CSV "[Path to csv]"
foreach($computer in $_name){
Copy-Item "C:\sentinel one\SentinelAgent_windows_v4_2_4_154.exe" \\$computer\c$\windows\temp
  Invoke-Command -ComputerName $computer -ScriptBlock {
    Start-Process "SentinelAgent_windows_v4_2_4_154.exe"/SITE_TOKEN=** /QUIET /NORESTART
  }
}

thanks!

Hi @wicked74
Couple of changes that you need to do...
If you have a header in the csv file then you can use something like this in the foreach loop...
foreach ($computer in $computers.name)
In the Copy-Item destination path, you need to use escape character before $ (not $computer) since PowerShell variables start with $ itself.
In the Start-Process you should use full file path, not just filename...
C:\Windows\Temp\SentinelAgent_windows_v4_2_4_154.exe
Also, add -Wait flag
$Computers = Import-CSV "[Path to csv]"
foreach($Computer in $Computers.Name)
{
    Copy-Item -Path "C:\sentinel one\SentinelAgent_windows_v4_2_4_154.exe" -Destination "\\$Computer\c`$\Windows\Temp"
    Invoke-Command -ComputerName $Computer -ScriptBlock {
        Start-Process -FilePath "C:\Windows\Temp\SentinelAgent_windows_v4_2_4_154.exe" -ArgumentList "/SITE_TOKEN=** /QUIET /NORESTART" -Wait
    }
}
Thank you.

hey kiran

thank you very much for your reply

i ran the script and didnt noticed any errors however i dont see the file getting copied or the exe getting installed…

First, check your csv file, and see the output of $Computers

If you see your servers list, then try with one server, and execute the commands one by one with the direct path and see how it works.

yep typo in the csv file

moving forward - the file got copied to the server but the exe didnt run