RDS Server Event Logs

Hello everyone. This is my first post and my first question in the marvelous world of Powershell. I am quite new to the shell, with under a month of experience in my belt, but I’m getting the hang of things. I have bought and read Don Jones Month of Lunches and I’m offically on my first real world work project.

My boss wants me to create a script that scans the event viewers of rdp servers and gives a list of logins both failed and successful. It is really important for me to do this mostly on my own, however, with being so new to the shell, I need to be pointed in the right direction. If someone could send me on the right path, or give me examples on how to do this, it would be most appreciated.

I’m assuming I’m going to be needing the cmdlet Get-Eventlog with some filters that only give me the information I need, while exporting that information to a .csv file.

I apologize ahead of time if asking for assistance with work related matters on this forum is inapropiate and against the rules. If you have gotten this far thank you sincerely for your time and effort. I hope to hear from you guys!

As a tip, try to keep your post subjects related to what you’re asking about - helps the right folks look at your question. I’ve edited this one.

Yep, Get-EventLog is where you would probably start. It has a number of parameters to help filter what you get back, and Export-CSV can convert the output to a CSV file. The help files for both commands include numerous examples - run “Help Get-EventLog -Full” to see them.

The man himself! Thank you, Don! Love your book!

In general, you’ll have a much better experience if you set up a log shipping solution first, and then run your queries against the location where all of the accumulated logs are stored. This functionality has been built into Windows for some time now (since 2008, if I remember correctly) with the Forwarded Event Logs feature, or you could use a third-party tool; that’s up to you.