DeviceName   : \\.\DISPLAY1
Primary      : True
WorkingArea  : {X=0,Y=46,Width=3840,Height=1034}

BitsPerPixel : 32
Bounds       : {X=3840,Y=-158,Width=1920,Height=1200}
DeviceName   : \\.\DISPLAY2
Primary      : False
WorkingArea  : {X=3840,Y=-158,Width=1920,Height=1200}

What I would like to do is to write a script which puts the four numbers representing the working area of the primary display (0,46,3840,1080) in my example into 4 different environment variables that I could query from another application. Can anyone give me a suggestion about how this can be done. (I have no experience writting powershell scripts). Thanks ~Paul

Oops, I meant to say the four numbers (0,46,3840,1034) representing the working area. (I typed the last number incorrectly).

A simple approach would like below,

Add-Type -AssemblyName System.Windows.Forms
$DeviceName = 'DISPLAY2'
$ScreenDetail = [System.Windows.Forms.Screen]::AllScreens
$RequiredDisplay = $ScreenDetail | Where-Object -FilterScript {$_.DeviceName -match $DeviceName}
[System.Environment]::SetEnvironmentVariable('WorkingAreaX',$RequireDisplay.WorkingArea.X, [System.EnvironmentVariableTarget]::Machine)

# similar code for Y, Width and Height

Since the Environment variable scope is set to Machine, these variable wont be available in the same process and child processes. For that Process scope has to be used. If both are required, then Environment variable for each will have to be created per scope.

1 Like

I think you meant to say $DisplayName = ‘DISPLAY1’ since I wanted the primary display.
Also I think you have an extra single quote between Machine and the closing parenthesis. (It gave me an error message on that.)
With those changes, I executed the script in the powershell by typing .\WorkingArea.ps1