PSWindowsUpdate fails to effect Windows updates

I am currently tasked with designing and implementing a basic automatic setup procedure for our support devices that are regularly loaned out. I am also a complete PS noob. It’s a simple three-stage affair:

1. Install Windows using WSIM/autounattend.xml
  2. Run a PS script that executes automatically upon first logon
  3. Some more adjustments to be done by hand

As part of stage two, I am mostly installing some software, copying over a wallpaper and so on. Crucially, I am also trying to update Windows. As I understand, there used to be a built-in module WindowsUpdateProvider, which, though basic, would have sufficed for our requirements. Since it no longer exists, I am using PSWindowsUpdate instead.

Here’s the pertinent PS code:

Install-Module -Name PSWindowsUpdate -Force
Import-Module PSWindowsUpdate
Get-WindowsUpdate
Install-WindowsUpdate -AcceptAll -AutoReboot

Now here’s the twist: The update procedure fails regularly at the installing stage (i.e. downloading the KBs itself goes fine):

Install-WindowsUpdate : Ausnahme von HRESULT: 0x80248007
In D:\NepResources\nep_unattend.ps1:99 Zeichen:1
+ Install-WindowsUpdate -AcceptAll -AutoReboot 1>>"C:\Users\Neptun\Docu ...
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-WindowsUpdate], COMException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException,PSWindowsUpdate.GetWindowsUpdate

As I understand, the error can be related to different things going wrong, including software agreements. However, if I check the updates manually using the “traditional” way via settings, it all works without a hitch.

I have tried a variety of workarounds:

• Assuming autoupdates were interfering, disabling them in the registry > no dice
  • Assuming autoupdates were interfering, disabling the wuauserv service > this disables updates altogether