PowerShell, WMI & Heterogeneous domains

I am still relatively new to PowerShell so I have to ask this broad question, of which I should know the answer but I do not, so sorry. My situation is this, I work in an environment where PS Remoting cannot and will not be allowed, so I am forced to get what ever systems info I can by resulting to WMI. I support two types of network topological designs. The first is a true domain, all the machines using the same FQDN. The second are also domains (Campuses) that are all different FQDN’s. I have to touch these machines (All) from a single workstation that resides on the first domain I described. Using WMI on the first domain has no issues, but I have to ask if PowerShell can be configured to pull information from the other heterogeneous domains? I will have little if any support from the different network domain admins, I guess between “Group Policy” and their own local restraints that they just refuse to help us out, cannot say as I blame the DoD offers it’s own set of IT challenges, salute!

I admit after a couple of years working with PowerShell and reading everything I can find (Especially from Mr. Jones and Mr. Hicks) that I should be able to answer my own question, but I am stuck, and I hope that you will forgive my lack of knowledge.

Ahh…the DoD I remember it fondly and all the goofy workarounds we had to come up with to do our jobs b/c of IA. Anyway, have you tried adding the -Credential param in Get-WMIObject?

Thank you for such a timely response. The DoD side is not the issue I can query those machines fine. It is the ones scattered across 5 states and 38 different .edu domains that I am trying to pull info from. Do you know if PowerShell is capable?