PowerShell Script Refreshing Excel with MS Query Not Unlocking File

Hello everyone!

I am a rather novice user of PowerShell and do most of my scripting by finding what I need online and tweaking it for my needs. I have been using this script for a few years that will open an Excel workbook, refresh it, print the first page to a PDF and close it. Recently, I changed that first page so that I could generate some dynamic tables using MS Query that pulls data from another tab. The excel file works fine if you open it manually and let it refresh. However, the script now causes the file to be locked for editing and keeps the excel processes open in the background without clearing them up. Something appears to be hanging up on the MS Query running in the workbook and I can’t figure out what it is.

Here is my code:

#UPDATE DATA IN EXCEL FILES
#THEN CREATE PDF FILE

[string]$path = "M:\temp"  #Path to Excel spreadsheets to save to PDF
[string]$savepath = "M:\temp\archives"
[string]$dToday = Get-Date -Format "yyyyMMdd"

$xlFixedFormat = "Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.xlFixedFormatType" -as [type] 
$excelFiles = Get-ChildItem -Path $path -include Daily.xlsx -recurse 
$excelFiles2 = Get-ChildItem -Path $path -include DailyTotals.xlsx -recurse 

# Create the Excel application object
$objExcel = New-Object -ComObject excel.application 
$objExcel.visible = $false   #Do not open individual windows

foreach($wb in $excelFiles) 
{ 
	 # Path to new PDF with date 
	 $filepath = Join-Path -Path $savepath -ChildPath ($wb.BaseName + "_" + $dtoday + ".pdf") 

# Open workbook - 3 refreshes links
	 $workbook = $objExcel.workbooks.open($wb.fullname, 3)
	 $worksheet = $objExcel.worksheets.item(1)
	 $workbook.RefreshAll()

Start-Sleep -Seconds 5

# Save Workbook
	 #$workbook.Saved = $true 
	"saving $filepath" 
	 #Export as PDF
	 $worksheet.ExportAsFixedFormat($xlFixedFormat::xlTypePDF, $filepath) 
	 $objExcel.Workbooks.close() 
	} 
$objExcel.Quit()

[GC]::Collect()