PowerShell Script Error Need help figuring out issue please.

Hi All,

I am pretty new to PowerShell and script writing but am learning from videos on Pluralsight courses.

I have been working on some PowerShell script tools and have run into a issue I cannot figure out at this point. I have created a VM lab using VMWare, setup a Domain Controller and a few Test machines in VM to test my scripts and tools.

The tool I am working on at this time is pretty simple script but is throwing an error I cannot figure out. Below is the coding of the script and the error I am getting when I run it with the Computername parameter.

Script Code:

param($Computername, $Location = 'OU=Corporate Computers')

try {
if (Get-AdComputer $Computername) {
Write-Error "The computer name '$Computername' already exist"
return
}
} catch {

}

$DomainDn = (Get-AdDomain).DistinquishedName
$DefaultOuPath = "$Location,$DomainDn"

New-ADComputer -Name $Computername -Path $DefaultOuPath

COMMANDLINE.
.\scriptname.ps1 -$Computername TestVM-03

ERROR I can’t figure out:

New-ADComputer : The object name has bad syntax
At C:\Scriptname.ps1:15 char:1
+ New-ADComputer -Name $Computername -Path $DefaultOuPath
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

+ CategoryInfo :NotSpecified: (CN=-,TestVM-03, :String) [New-AdComputer], ADException
+ FullyQualifiedErroId : ActiveDirectoryServer:8335,Microsoft.ActiveDirectory.Management.Commands.NewADComputer

Remove the dollar sign from your call

.\scriptname.ps1 -Computername TestVM-03

Hi Doug and thanks for the quick reply. I tried what you suggested and got a different error message see below commandline and error received this time.

PS C:\Powershell> .\New-EmployeeOnboardComputer.ps1 -Comutername TestVM-03
New-ADComputer : Cannot validate argument on parameter ‘Name’. The argument is null or empty. Provide an
argument that is not null or empty, and then try the command again.
At C:\Powershell\New-EmployeeOnboardComputer.ps1:15 char:22