powershell n00b questions

by pspecht at 2012-11-02 06:33:49

I am very new to powershell.

I am trying to create an emailed (HTML) report of log files from some of my 2008 servers.
I am trying to learn how to scan text files for specific words, and then place those words in an HTML email so I can have a daily report.
Example: If I look my virus scan logs I can search for the words “virus detected”, and pull the path and file name that was detected plus the name of the virus.

This is want I know so far. (Or at least I think I do!)

To get the log file data: "Get-content then path to the log file".
Do I then want to use "-match (search word)” to look for the words in the log file I want? Or do I use Select-String, I think I want a regular expression so I can look for the words virus detected, and grab the info after that. Correct?
I am a bit confused, I think I need to set a variable for the words I find correct? So I can pull that info into the tables? I can use that variable to put the data into the correct table.

Since I have multiple servers, I would like to pull the data from each server and write to a single report. Do I need to create a text file with the server names, or should I run each script on the server, then pull that data into my report?

Using a script I found for my exchagne servers, I am able to create andn html report with tables. I am reverse engineering it, and learning what does what as I remove and add commands.
by nohandle at 2012-11-02 06:46:24
1) html report by mail: do you have smtp server available? to send html message use Send-MailMessage -BodyAsHtml -Body <html text here>
2) text files for specific words: yes use select string to get the whole line (maybe you want to look at context parameter of the cmdlet)

after you are done with the reverse engineering invent some code and do a bit of practice. :slight_smile: you can of course post the code after and get comments.
by pspecht at 2012-11-02 07:23:32
thanks for the reply!