Powershell Invoke-Expression stopped at command

by wkiess01 at 2012-09-06 19:56:55

Hi Powershell Gurus!

I’m new to Powershell and loving it. So much more control and power than the old DOS batch files…

I’m writing a Powershell script to copy a (large >100GB) folder from our file server to a USB drive as a disaster recovery facility. Before I can copy the large folder, I check if sufficient space is available on the USB drive,. If not, I locate and delete the oldest copy of the folder. At least I want to delete it.

I’ve managed to get to the point of knowing the folder path to remove, but when I invoke the expression to do so, Powershell stops with the message:

[DBG]>>> Stopped at: cmd /c "rd f:\Backups\20120815 /s"

It won’t step or run any further. Can anyone shed any light onto why this is happening and how I can overcome this problem?

Here is the full script (cobbled together from various website’s suggestions and my own discoveries):

try
{
# Find the external target USB Drive
$x = get-WmiObject -Class win32_logicaldisk | select -Property deviceid, volumename | findstr USB_FileArchive
}
catch
{
echo "Caught: Unable to locate External USB Drive for Files Backup." >> c:\temp\BackupFiles.log
exit /b
}
if ($x) {}
else
{
echo "Null: Unable to locate External USB Drive for Files Backup." >> c:\temp\BackupFiles.log
exit /b
}

# Extract the drive letter of the target drive
$x = $x.Substring(0,2)

# Determine Source Folder size so we can work out if there’s enough room on the target
$objFSO = New-Object -com Scripting.FileSystemObject
$srcSize = "{0:N2}" -f (($objFSO.GetFolder("d:\company").Size) / 1GB)

# Determine free space on target drive
$f=get-wmiobject win32_logicaldisk -filter "drivetype=3" | select-object deviceid, freespace,size | findstr $x | %{ $.Split(" ",[StringSplitOptions]"RemoveEmptyEntries")[1] }
$freeSpace="{0:N2}" -f ($f / 1GB)

# Check available space
$availSpace = $freeSpace - $srcSize
if ($availSpace -lt 0)
{