Possible parameter values

Hello
I just started learning PS
One issue is bothering. For example:
we have a comment like: Get-ItemPropertyValue
and it has Required parameter Name. I found an example that we can you it like

-Name LastWriteTime,CreationTime,Root

and here is my question. How can I find a list of possible options to by use for “Name” parameter

Thanks in advance for help

Get-ItemPropertyValue | Get-Member

You will get prompted for a value, just type name and enter twice and you should see a list of methods and properties. That is if I’m understanding what it is you are seeking.

There’s no fixed list of what -Name will accept. It depends on what you are working with. For example, in the file system versus the registry versus something else. So you have to - as suggested above - retrieve something and ask for a member list.

Not exactly but also good hint. If I can I will continue.
I have a comment

Get-ItemPropertyValue -Path C:\Users\karol\Desktop\Migration -Name LastWriteTime,CreationTime

This are two property names “LastWriteTime,CreationTime” i have found over internet. I would like to know how, in this example, am I to find other values that can be passed to “Name”.

The “Get-Member” gives me type of the member and the of its methods and properties.

Thx for answer

I think you need to use the following first in order to discover what you can use:

Get-ItemProperty -Path C:\Users\karol\Desktop\Migration

This should give you some objects that you can refer to when using:

Get-ItemProperty -Path C:\Users\karol\Desktop\Migration -Name LastWriteTime,CreationTime

Refer to these two links for more info:
Get-ItemProperty
Get-ItemPropertyValue

Thx you very much. A huge progress was made.
But few more questions came up :slight_smile:
First thinks first. I started with

Get-ItemProperty -Path C:\Users\karol\Desktop\Migration

and it gave me almost nothing

Directory: C:\Users\karol\Desktop

Mode LastWriteTime Length Name