Path autocompletion

Hi All.

I am kinda new to PS, and was able to write relatively simple script to import OpenSSL certificate to Personal store without any issue, but one thing is killing me…

I am using Read-Host -prompt to get path to certificate file from user and would really like to add bash or CMD-style autocompletion with TAB.

After few days of futile search on numerous forums and hundreds of try and errors, i decided to ask the professionals…

Can anyone please help and give me an example of code to autocomplete path to file? Something like this:

$p12path = Read-Host -Prompt ‘Enter path to .p12 certificate file:’

c:\temp<TAB>

No matter what i try, i just get 4 spaces on TAB press. I tend to believe something like this is easy to achieve in PowerShell, but for some reason solution is eluding me…

Thank you in advance.

Mike

Unfortunately with powershell.exe I don’t think you are going to get that functionality. Remember the cmdlet you are using is Read-Host which reads a line of input from the user, but when you see the word “Host” in PowerShell you shouldn’t think of the person entering data or the computer as the “Host”. Host refers to the application hosting the PowerShell library. If you run Get-Host you will see the current host running PowerShell. There are several Hosts out there like powershell.exe, powershell ise or even vs code has it’s own host. I know that is a lot of info and not really solving your problem, but it is important to know that even if there was a parameter in Read-Host that implemented that functionality, it may not be the same depending on the “Host” you are running the script on. If you really need to control the user experience in your script you might want to use a Windows Form (with PowerShell). Another option would be to have the user input that as an argument in cmd or powershell i.e.

.\myscript.ps1 -path C:\path...

I probably misunderstood. I may repost.

Thank you very much for clarification Mike.