Only exporting the the first object to CSV

$sg = Get-AzNetworkSecurityGroup -Name CCBDRSG01 | select -ExpandProperty NetworkInterfaces | select -Property id
$sg | Export-Csv -Path c:\temp\sg.csv
$text = Import-Csv -path c:\temp\sg.csv
$text | ForEach-Object {$_.id.trimstart(“/subscriptions/1fc74016-76c6-45fd-ae38-adadadassdasd/resourceGroups/test/providers/Microsoft.Network/networkInterfaces/”) | Out-File c:\temp\sg2.csv}

it will only export out the first entry in the CSV file.

the reason I wanted to do this is Get-AzNetworkSecurityGroup does not support trim so i exported the data so I could use trim. If run the command with export it will display all the server interfaces.

get-help select-object -full

read through all of the parameters, and i think you’ll find your answer pretty quickly :slight_smile:

@David Schmidtberger Documentation is the -First place I would look too.

I always look a the get-help before I post and I must be dense (as I’m fairly new to powershell) I just do not see how the answer is select-object when it come to Export-CSV. I believe it has something to do with for-each not running through all objects. Can you give me another push as I have not found the answer.

You need to move that curly brace back in a number of characters so that your last line would look like

$text | ForEach-Object {$_.id.trimstart(“/subscriptions/1fc74016-76c6-45fd-ae38-adadadassdasd/resourceGroups/test/providers/Microsoft.Network/networkInterfaces/”)} | Out-File c:\temp\sg2.csv

The way you had it enclosed the ‘Out-File c:\temp\sg2.csv’ code portion inside the ForEach loop, resulting in each iteration over-writing the one before, and sg2.csv ends up with the last value only.
Also consider calling it sg2.txt instead of sg2.csv

@sreed7743