Newbie help - PowerShell script to install fonts

First off, Im a complete Newbie to powershell.

I am working on a project where i need to install a number of fonts from a specific folder, already placed locally on receiving computer. The Font folder has subfolders, containing yet more fonts.

Im trying to automate this process in a script, but no matter what i have tried nothing seems to work. I have full admin rights, and can do it manually - no problem there.

Can some help me get started on this problem… Google Searching gave me a bunch of scripts, but none work for me and i am not well enough versed in powershell to edit them yet.

Rasmus,

welcome to Powershell.org. So you already searched for it … great. :wink: What have you tried so far and why didn’t it workout for you? Did you try to find something on the PowershellGallery?

This is basically using a vbscript object:

# install fonts
# http://www.mondaiji.com/blog/other/it/10247-windows-install-fonts-via-command-line

$ssfFonts = 0x14
$fontSourceFolder = ".\fonts"
$Shell = New-Object -ComObject Shell.Application
$SystemFontsFolder = $Shell.Namespace($ssfFonts)
$FontFiles = Get-ChildItem $fontSourceFolder
$SystemFontsPath = $SystemFontsFolder.Self.Path
$rebootFlag = $false

foreach($FontFile in $FontFiles) {
    # $FontFile will be copied to this path:
    $targetPath = Join-Path $SystemFontsPath $FontFile.Name
    # So, see if target exists...
    if(Test-Path $targetPath){
        # font file with the same name already there.
        # delete and replace.
        $rebootFlag = $true
        Remove-Item $targetPath -Force
        Copy-Item $FontFile.FullName $targetPath -Force
    }else{
        #install the font.
        $SystemFontsFolder.CopyHere($FontFile.fullname)
    }
}

#Follow-up message
if($rebootFlag){
    Write-Host "At least one existing font overwritten. A reboot may be necessary."
}

if ( -not $? ) { exit 1 }

OK, but what script are you running to have this execute on a remote machine?