Script to create AD User account, AD Group and add user to group

Hello,
I am new to powershell and I am trying to write a script that will create an AD user account, Create an AD security group then add that user account to the AD group.
Here is what I have so far and I seem to not have it quite right.

$GroupVar=Read-Host “Enter Local Admin Group name”
$UserVar=Read-Host “Enter Local Admin User ID”
$UserGivenNameVar=Read-Host “Enter Users First Name”
$UserSurNameVar=Read-Host “Enter Users Last Name”
New-ADUser -Name $UserVar -AccountPassword password -ChangePasswordAtLogon 1 -GivenName $UserGivenNameVar -Surname $UserSurNameVar -DisplayName “$UserGivenNameVar $UserSurNameVar - Local Admin” -Path “CN=OU1,CN=OU Number 2,DC=child,dc=domain,DC=com”
New-ADGroup -Name “$GroupVar” -GroupScope Global -GroupCategory Security -Path CN=OU1,CN=OU Number 2,DC=child,DC=domain,DC=com
Add-ADGroupMember -Identity $GroupVar -Members $UserVar

Thanks for the assistance

There’s a few problems here. One, you cannot provide the New-ADUser cmdlet’s -AccountPassword parameter a standard string. Instead, you must use the ConvertTo-SecureString cmdlet to first convert your string before using it as the parameter’s value. Use this instead: …-AccountName (ConvertTo-SecureString -AsPlainText ‘password’ -Force)… The parenthesis indicate to first run the ConvertTo-SecureString, before applying it as the value for that parameter.