Need to edit the Everyone permission on a share

Hello all,

I am VERY new to power shell and scripting in general. I have been given the task to edit the Everyone permission on several remote servers, we are in the process of decommissioning. The OS on these servers is Server 2003, and the power shell version is 2.0.

I have been able to find several scripts that will create a share for me, and mark everyone as read only, below is the one I have been using:

$Computer = “Computer”
$Class = “Win32_Share”
$Method = “Create”
$name = “Temp”
$path = “C:\temp”
$description = “This is shared for me to test”
$sd = ([WMIClass] “\$Computer\root\cimv2:Win32_SecurityDescriptor”).CreateInstance()
$ACE = ([WMIClass] “\$Computer\root\cimv2:Win32_ACE”).CreateInstance()
$Trustee = ([WMIClass] “\$Computer\root\cimv2:Win32_Trustee”).CreateInstance()
$Trustee.Name = “EVERYONE”
$Trustee.Domain = $Null
$Trustee.SID = @(1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0)
$ace.AccessMask = 1179817
$ace.AceFlags = 3
$ace.AceType = 0
$ACE.Trustee = $Trustee
$sd.DACL += $ACE.psObject.baseobject
$mc = [WmiClass]“\$Computer\ROOT\CIMV2:$Class”
$InParams = $mc.psbase.GetMethodParameters($Method)
$InParams.Access = $sd
$InParams.Description = $description
$InParams.MaximumAllowed = $Null
$InParams.Name = $name
$InParams.Password = $Null
$InParams.Path = $path
$InParams.Type = [uint32]0
$R = $mc.PSBase.InvokeMethod($Method, $InParams, $Null)
switch ($($R.ReturnValue))
{
0 {Write-Host “Share:$name Path:$path Result:Success”; break}
2 {Write-Host “Share:$name Path:$path Result:Access Denied” -foregroundcolor red -backgroundcolor yellow;break}
8 {Write-Host “Share:$name Path:$path Result:Unknown Failure” -foregroundcolor red -backgroundcolor yellow;break}
9 {Write-Host “Share:$name Path:$path Result:Invalid Name” -foregroundcolor red -backgroundcolor yellow;break}
10 {Write-Host “Share:$name Path:$path Result:Invalid Level” -foregroundcolor red -backgroundcolor yellow;break}