Need regEx help

OK, I admit, I am NOT good with regEx. Hoping someone here can help. Here is what I have:

$str = '<th>HotFixID</th>'

Here is my current replace code:

$str -Replace '<th>', $("<th onclick=""sortTable(this.cellIndex,'"+$TableName +"')""> <input type=""text"" onfocus=""filterTable(this.parentElement.cellIndex,'"+$TableName+"')"" class=""filterInput"" />")

This almost works. It gives me this:

<th onclick="sortTable(this.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')"> <input type="text" onfocus="filterTable(this.parentElement.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')" class="filterInput" />HotFixID</th>

What I need is this:

<th onclick="sortTable(this.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')">HotFixID <input type="text" onfocus="filterTable(this.parentElement.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')" class="filterInput" /></th>

I suspect some RegEX guru can guide me with the proper replace method? Thanks in advance.

Could do it it a couple ways. I’d just do

‘<th>(?=Hotfixid)’,$replacement

But I think you don’t want that slash at the end in your replacement. It’s in the following </th>

Oh wait you’re trying to get rid of Hotfixid?

No sir. I need to keep the HotFixID. My replacement puts it at the end of the <input … > tag, I need it to precede it with one space at the end. I posted what I need it to be … sorry if I am not very clear.

Make sense?

What I need is this:

<th onclick="sortTable(this.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')">HotFixID <input type="text" onfocus="filterTable(this.parentElement.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')" class="filterInput" /></th>

Not sure if this matters but I am basically massaging data returned from ConvertTo-HTML where I need to add a text input and two JavaScript function calls in the TH tags.

Here is what is in the data returned from ConvertTo-HTML

'<th>HotFixID</th>'

Something like this?

$leftSide = "<th onclick=""sortTable(this.cellIndex,'HotFixes_HOSTNAME')"">"