moving files to a new directory and deleting remaining files

by bryanleesterk at 2013-01-06 17:34:03

I am a complete noob to this which I’m sure will be obvious by my question but here it goes. I’m trying to come up with a script to search my directory "c:\Users\bryan\Downloads" for any files larger than 100mb & move them to c:\Users\bryan\Movies. all of the files in the original path are in sub folders and i would like to delete all of the original folders and files smaller than 100mb after the move is complete. I’ve tried patching together some scripts i found online but not working. If anyone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
by nohandle at 2013-01-07 02:59:31
[quote="bryanleesterk"] I’m trying to come up with a script to search my directory "c:\Users\bryan\Downloads" for any files larger than 100mb & move them to c:\Users\bryan\Movies. all of the files in the original path are in sub fold[/quote]
Do you need to preserve the folder structure also in the movies folder? like… Downloads\something\film.avi becomes Movies\something\film.avi. Or you don’t care?
Checking for file extension seems like better idea to find movies than checking for filesize.

Without preserving the structure you do simply this:
$sourcePath = 'C:\temp\mhdd'
$destinationPath = 'c:\Temp'
#clear error list
$Error.Clear()
#folders have length (size) empty -> they are filtered out automatically
Get-ChildItem -Recurse -Path $sourcePath |
Where-Object {$_.length -ge 100MB} |
Move-Item -Destination $destinationPath -Force
#no errors in the previous commands, I can delete
#the count is 0 -> false, -not false is true
if (-not $error.Count)
{
#* because you want to delete just the contents of the folder not the folder itself
Remove-Item "$sourcePath*" -Force -Recurse -Confirm
}
else
{
Write-Warning 'No items deleted, there were errors in the previous commands.'
}
by bryanleesterk at 2013-01-07 07:34:27