Please help with my \"Move files to Folders\" script

I am a forum lurker and have learned SO much from PowerShell.org about scripting. I’ve been able to cobble together some really useful scripts to help in my daily life, but I have run in to a roadblock and can’t seem to help myself out of it. I am NOT a programmer and really struggling to learn PowerShell to help me some routine but cumbersome tasks.

I put a script together to help me move a large number of movie and pic files (only png, jpg, gif and mpg formats) to subfolders within the same directory.

First Issue

I have to have two versions of the script to limit the move to 5000 files where total files => 5000. But can’t wrap my head around how to clean up the script to account for instances where there are <5000 files.

The change I now make manually is from this:

for ($i=0; $i -lt $files.Count; $i++) {
    $outfile = $files[$i].Name

To this for when there are >5000 files:

# Limit the move to the first 5000 items y changing "$files.count" to "5000".

for ($i=0; $i -lt 5000; $i++) {

What I would like is one script that (1) counts the files and then (2) moves them appropriately with multiple folders of 5000 items where total files >= 5000.

I want the ability to break up, say 22,000 files (of the same type) into five folders, To Sort 1, To Sort 2, etc. with To Sort 5 holding the last 2,000. What I am getting instead is just one folder without the numbering and subsequent folder creation (because I don’t know how to do that) and the script craps out with an exception error where total files < 5000.

Second Issue